You Dont Need To Be Working Out To Burn Calories!

24 Feb

3c

This weekend I had taken on a large painting project in our house.  I became so busy with that I skipped out on my gym time Saturday and Sunday.  I felt a little guilty about that but after two consecutive days of painting 5+ house each, I thought seriously…. I am tired, I am sore.. this must be worth something.

I Googled (LOVE Google!) “Calories burned painting walls” and was amazed to find out that one hour of painting walls converts to 320 calories burned on average.  :shock:  The article stated that not only are you constantly moving your arms, but you are also stretching and thinking about where to go next.

That is sooooooo AWESOME!

Now before you run out and buy your paint supplies thinking you will repaint the whole house… other things we do in our home burn calories as well and here is a little list I found on-line, but certainly this is by no means inclusive…

3b

Note that this chart is based on 30 minutes of activity.

Next time you are bumming out (like I was) about missing a work out because you had to get some house work/projects done…. don’t fret.  Grab your water, turn on some music (or in my case an audio book) and get to it!  :D

If you have any other activities you would like to add to this list along with the calorie burn – please do so in the comments.  It is encouraging to see that our “must get dones” are actually good for us not only mentally… but physically as well.

7 Responses to “You Dont Need To Be Working Out To Burn Calories!”

  1. laurelrainsnow February 24, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    So glad to see those numbers! I’m always moving furniture, but hate going to the gym…lol

  2. mpartyka February 24, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

    love this! although loading my dishwasher takes about 5 minutes… so 20 calories :)

    I’ll take it. HA

  3. Vicki February 24, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    I know anything you do burns calories, including sleeping LOL, but this chart helps to keep track of just how many we burn doing everyday chores without even thinking about it!

  4. Joy Weese Moll February 26, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    This week shoveling snow is featured heavily in my workouts!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings…Sunday Things | Book Journey - February 24, 2013

    [...] but thrilled with the results.  (Oh and if you are curious if painting burns calories, check out my finds here).  If you are my Facebook friend (Sheila DeChantal), you can see the pictures I posted this [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,029 other followers

