Ready for some fun?

2 Jan

Well… this is really a leap of faith. 

I have been itching to do a blog project although honestly… I didn’t think it would be this one.  😛 

Yet, as I started planning challenges and personal goals for the new year, this one started forming in my mind.  For those of you who know me I am always trying to find the next best fun event.  Last year I biked many tours around Minnesota, experienced my first Polar Plunge, and a Warrior Dash.  And where did that leave me?  Honestly… thirsting for more.

I am no die hard work out enthusiast.  I strive to be, but honestly… I am not there.  I get tired after a long days work just like everyone else… I skip workouts, I don’t always make the best food choices, and some days… I just want to read a good book and do nothing more than that.  I say this because I do not want you to click your way out of here saying well thats too intense for me.  Really, it’s not.

What I am hoping is that through this space we can connect on what we are doing to stay fit.  Struggles and successes are all welcome here. 

What I know to be true right now is that each Tuesday I hope you connect with Mari’s Checkpoint.  That will by my Tuesday thing. I think Wednesdays I would like to build a weekly post that features healthy recipes.  You can link your own as well, or add them in comments…

Beyond that… I do not know, but I am open to suggestions. 

Be sure to take a moment and check out the About Team Kickin It page.  There I give my email for anyone to connect with me and share their journey… I may eventually have a featured follower post…. time will tell.

SO – where am I for this weeks Checkpoint?  I managed to get out and work out a couple times last week.  Not as much I had hoped for – but still… I was moving.  This week I plan to do better.  On Monday I hit the gym with my friend Wendy.

Calories burned last week:  1250 and adding in the treadmill and elliptical work from Monday, 661 calories burned from yesterday, puts me at: 1,911 calories for the week.


Stop in to Bookworm With A View and link up what you are doing this week to stay fit.

24 Responses to “Ready for some fun?”

  1. laurelrainsnow January 3, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    What a fun site this will be! Not that I’m going to do much…I just go to the gym, and not as often as I should. But maybe I’ll derive some motivation. I like how you have the site set up…cute header, too.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks Laurel, it was actually fun to design a blog now that I kind of know what I am doing…LOL…. I barely understood blogs when I made Book Journey… so to design this one with what I know now was so much fun and I am very pleased on how it turned out…. crisp and clean! Healthy looking even! 😀

  2. Wendy January 3, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    You rock!! This is inspiring 🙂

  3. ellie January 3, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Wonderful and best wishes.

  4. Leslie January 3, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I’m ready! I’m starting out slow, though. My first goal is to get back to where I was a few months ago, Walking a mile or two a day (outside with nature even in the cold) and yoga (at home, inside, class on DVD) twice a week. I’ve totally slacked off the last 3 months. 😦 I blame the cold weather. I need to blame something other than myself. In a few months when it warms up I will be redesigning my garden and adding some new landscaping, which is also great exercise.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 3, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      I have slacked to Leslie, I went down hill from the time our dog was put to sleep and just couldn’t shake the funky mood. I think I am finally on the upswing. 🙂

      • Leslie January 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

        Me too. New year, new start, all that. When my job got eliminated and I was no longer going to the city every day, my routine took a hit. Plus I was not in the greatest of moods since we had been lied to by the takeover company… they always lie. Anyway, time to get over it and move forward!

  5. mari (Bookworm with a View) January 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Woohoo! I’m cheering you on 🙂

    To jump start my January… I’m going to jog on my tread in the morning (adding a second daily workout)… letting myself watch a movie/TV show on my ipad. I’m also adding in a push up challenge for myself (to prep for TM and to get my Omaha muscle tone back).

    I have a favorite recipe to share with you. I chop all kinds of veggies into tiny pieces which let’s me have about 10 cups of mixed raw veggies on hand weekly. All prepped so I can scoop a bowl full any time. Instead of dressing use pico or salsa. I add in half a guac for protein. It’s my favorite go-to meal. I just had a bowl full.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      YUM! Thanks for that one Mari. I love vegies! I am going to start a Wednesday healthy eats link here for people to share these great ideas. I am going to hit the grocery store this afternoon… and load up on the vegies! 😀

      • mari (Bookworm with a View) January 3, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

        My typical ‘core mix’ consists of: Brocolli, Califlower, green/red peppers, cucumbers, red cabbage… plus whatever peaks my interest. I keep grape tomatoes in the house and lettuce but do not include in my precut mixture since they can turn quickly. This veggies I listed above will stay good for two weeks!

        I don’t like spicy food but if you do, throw in hot peppers with your salsa. YUM!

  6. Amanda January 3, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    I’m so glad you’ve started this Sheila! So far 2012 is off to a good start for me with over 2 hours of exercise in,and almost 1000 calories burned. Let’s ROCK this year!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 4, 2012 at 12:50 am #

      YAY Amanda! I am so glad to have you on board! I was at the gym tonight for more than two hours… I was only planning on an hour, but a friend of mine walked in and I wound up staying and working out with her too. I am wiped out now. 😀

  7. Joy Weese Moll January 4, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    I’m in! This is fun. Thanks for the introduction to Mari’s Checkpoint feature.

  8. Jill January 5, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Sounds like a great idea! Can’t wait to see what you do with this new blog!

  9. Delia (Postcards from Asia) January 5, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Hi Sheila,
    This is a great start, truth is, I need all the motivation I can get…I get so lazy sometimes…
    I’ve been sick for more than a week so my exercise routine has suffered but I managed to go out and run yesterday and it felt great!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 5, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Thanks Delia! It does feel good to get back into it doesn’t it? 😀

  10. Reagan January 5, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    I love this idea of a Check point. How do you keep track of how many calories you’ve burned etc? Just pen and paper?

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      I have (hmmm… I should do a post about this…) a Polar monitor. It is a band that goes across my chest and then it comes with a wrist watch that tracks calories, heart rate… I love it.

      Otherwise, My Fitness pal will track it for you too if you let it know what you were doing and for how long.

Comments are closed.

