Wednesdays Healthy Eatin’

4 Jan

I don’t know about you but I tend to get into a pattern of “safe and good” foods that I enjoy when I am eating right.  I have some low-calorie “go to’s that I enjoy and fill me up so I eat them…. often.

For instance, Boca Burgers.  No, no!  Don’t run the other way!  Yes it is true their vegie burger does taste like cardboard – HOWEVER the Flame Grilled, Cheeseburger, and Mozzarella Mushroom (my fav) are wonderful!  Right around 100 calories, 4.5 fat, and 4 fiber.  I enjoy it with a slice of fat-free cheese (usually about 25 calories), load it up with vegies, and serve it on a Village Hearth Wheat bun.

This brand of bread has truly been a life saver.  The buns (or two slices of their bread) is 80 calories.  1 fat, 7 fiber… and it is DELICIOUS! 

Seriously, if you have not tried the Boca burgers (and again – do not judge it by the vegie or the vegan…. gross… really) I encourage you to do so.  I can find them in the Health Food section of my grocery store for around $4.89 for a 4 pack, but the best price I have found is as Wal-Mart at $2.88. That, with a can of sliced green beans on the side easily is dinner.

On Wednesdays, I want this to be a place where we can share ideas like this or recipes that are not only tasty, but good for you.  I will provide a linky below so you can either make your own post and link it here, or leave yours in the comment section below. 

Here is mine for today.

My friend Amy and I went on a 50 mile bike ride in July in St Joseph Minnesota.  The temperature had to be in the high 90’s and the humidity was over 100.  I was still in an arm cast but wanted to do the ride, so we went.  I think it was the first time ever that I waited in line to use an outhouse only to get some tissue to wipe the sweat off me.  Seriously, it felt better to be moving on the bike then it did to stop at the pit stops. 

After the ride we were both a sweaty mess but HUNGRY.  We stopped at a little diner in ST Joseph and after looking through a menu of pizza, burgers, calzones, etc… our eyes landed on a seafood salad.  We asked to see it – hoping it wasnt smothered in a mayo based sauce and it wasn’t, it was actually yummy looking.

This salad was perfectly delicious.  My friend Amy is awesome at picking out flavors in foods and we quickly jotted down a recipe that matched theirs and I have made it several times at home.

What I used:

a base layer of Romaine lettuce

1/2 sliced medium tomato layered on top

3 or 4 thin slices of onion on top of lettuce and tomato

For the seafood mix:

1 package of imitation seafood legs chopped into bite size and put in bowl

Chopped fresh cilantro to taste (I love Cilantro and I use about 1/4 cup)

lite Mayo (not Miracle Whip) I used an olive oil version (see pic) 45 calories per tablespoon – I only put enough on to coat, on a whole package of seafood, about 6 tablespoons (or about 1 tablespoon per serving)

dill to taste ***  this is the secret ingredient!

salt and pepper

Mix the seafood and seasonings together with the mayo and then put a generous dollop on top of the lettuce onion tomato plates.  Refreshing and delicious!

I would love to know some of your delicious and healthy recipes!  Please link up below where it says click here, or leave your recipe in the comment section below! 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

19 Responses to “Wednesdays Healthy Eatin’”

  1. laurelrainsnow January 4, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    That seafood salad looks yummy! I enjoy substituting the low fat ingredients…cheese, mayo, etc. And I eat turkey bacon and turkey burgers often.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      Its very good – and there are probably ways to make it even healthier – I just need to think on that 🙂

      LOVE turkey bacon!!!!!

  2. Leslie January 4, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I like the idea of a Wednesday Healthy Eating post. I’ll get some recipes together for next week.

    Not too sure about liking boca burgers though. Most of the veggie burgers I’ve tried were filled with soy and were, well, blech.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 4, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      LOL I like most of the flavors but forget about the 70 calorie vegie one… blah!!!! 😀

  3. Mary January 4, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Have you tried the Morningstar Farms Chipotle Black Bean burger? So flavorful!

  4. Vicki January 4, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    So funny!! We’re having Boca Burgers tonight. I’ll have to try your salad sometime.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 4, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      I love that you said “we”. I am the only one that eats them here. I make my hubby something else.

  5. Amanda January 4, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    I admit, I’m completely anti foods like fat free cheese and low cal stuff. All the chemicals in them!!! I prefer to use whole fat real sugar foods and just eat less processed stuff. One of my favorite things is the deli flats you can get in the stores. They’re regular bread, not high chemical, but also flat so that the whole bun is only 100 calories. Not a lot of fluff air in them. They fill you up so much more than a regular bun! 😀

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 4, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      I have some of those deli flats here too Amanda – they are good! The fat free cheese is my weakness…. LOL

    • Joy Weese Moll January 4, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      I’m with you, Amanda! I had to reduce sodium, too, so I mostly bake my own bread, now, in a bread machine. Less processed, less salt, and I know the ingredients because I put them in there.

      My answer to low-fat mayo is a mix of yogurt cheese and regular mayo. I changed the ratio gradually, but I’m happy with 2/3 yogurt cheese, 1/3 mayo giving me a spread that is less greasy, creamier, and lower in fat in calories than mayo but still all natural ingredients.

      • Sheila (Book Journey) January 5, 2012 at 2:21 am #

        Mmmm… that mayo substitute sounds great Joy – I am going to try that!

  6. Reagan January 5, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Now all your fun food photos can be useful! 🙂 LOVE IT!

  7. ibeeeg January 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    I like the idea of this post. Let me suggest you try Morningstar Veggie Burgers. They are soooo much better than Boca. So much better.

    Another healthy tip is …if you like yogurt than make the switch to Greek Yogurt. It is great stuff, and fantastic nutritional bang for your buck. Higher in protein, lower in fat.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 11, 2012 at 4:04 am #

      I will have to try those 😉 Thanks!

      I was just having a discussion about Greek Yogurt at book club tonight… I may need to give it a go.

  8. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader) January 12, 2012 at 12:26 am #

    I found myself wandering through the grocery story trying to come up with something easy to have for dinner by myself at home the other night and I remembered this post. I decided to take you at your word. I got the Mushroom Mozzarella burger and it was actually pretty darn good! I used a sandwich flat but I had to go for regular cheese. I am trying to wean myself away from it, but cheese is one of my basic food groups. Thanks for posting about this!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 12, 2012 at 3:41 am #

      Oh yay Jen! I am so glad you enjoyed it. The mushroom mozzarella is my favorite!

  9. todays date January 23, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    New day, New week..not gonna focus on negativity! 1 hour exercise routine done for the morning 🙂

Comments are closed.

