Tracking Those Pesky Calories Burned

5 Jan

 

My dear friend Reagan from Miss Remmer’s Reviews posted a question yesterday that brought on this post.  She asked how to keep track of calories burned. 

I know some of us use an online program, My Fitness Pal is one I have come to enjoy for tracking food intake and calories, as well as exercise and calories burned.  It is free and easy to use, you can even use it as an app on your phone. 

What I use the most though and LOVE LOVE LOVE is my Polar Sports watch.  You set it to your height, weight, age… and it will track your calories burned.  It is wonderful for biking and rollerblading, but I also use it in the gym during work outs. 

I find this brand at Target stores.  They do run right around $100 dollars, but I have had mine for three years and use it all the time. 

 

What do you use to track burning calories?

 

14 Responses to “Tracking Those Pesky Calories Burned”

  1. Amanda January 5, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    I use Sparkpeople rather than My Fitness Pal, but I’ve heard the latter is good too. If I hadn’t found Spark first, I might be using it, except that I like all the team and community aspects on Spark. And OH Polar is so good! I have a slightly higher model than the one you have pictured and I absolutely love it. It was expensive but worth it!!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 3:47 am #

      Thanks for the info on Sparkpeople Amanda, I could not remember everything the program offered but know many people enjoy it!

      I do love my Polar too, its nice to see all that you are doing calorie wise. I am curious what your Polar does… I may need to upgrade 😀

  2. mari (Bookworm with a View) January 5, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    I don’t track calories burned… maybe I should!

    Are you using DailyMile? This is a great community, with tons of challenges to join etc… love DM!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 3:48 am #

      I have not heard of Daily Mile – I will check that out Mari 😀 Thanks!

  3. Joy Weese Moll January 5, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I don’t track calories burned. I figure that’s like a bonus.

    I have used a Polar monitor in the past and that experience was helpful — it’s still helpful because I have a sense now of what my level of exertion is based on what I learned then.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 3:49 am #

      I like it too Jill as some of the workouts – even toning surprises me. My weight lifting class can burn around 600 calories… that amazes me!

  4. Jill January 5, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I use Daily Mile and My Fitness Pal. I love Daily Mile for exercise, there is a graph that shows how much you’ve done and you can motivate and receive motivation from others. For food tracking I use Fitness Pal and just started having friends on it this week. I also got a Garmin for Christmas to track my pace and distance for running and it also tracks calories as well, very similar to the one you have above.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 3:52 am #

      I am getting pretty excited to look into Daily Mile! 😀

  5. Leslie January 6, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    I have an Omron Pedometer. It tracks miles, steps, and calories burned. It has a seven day memory so I am writing it down on a spreadsheet. Until the start of this year I haven’t kept any records on walking since my walk was always to and from the same place.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 3:55 am #

      I like that it has a seven day memory Leslie! I want to track my year in calories and miles Leslie 🙂

  6. Zia January 9, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    I used Sparkpeople as well, though not like i used too. i have a watch I wear for calories burned but again I don’t really keep track since i know I tend to burn around 450 per Zumba session.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 9, 2012 at 4:49 am #

      Zumba is so fun and quite the calorie burner! I went a bit last fall.. I should try again 🙂

  7. ibeeeg January 10, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    I have a Garmin Foreunner 305 that I LOVE for cycling. Did not think about using it for my indoor workouts. I wonder how well it would be for my running. I guess I connected with outdoor use. I am going to experiment.

    I also am going to look at My Fitness Pal and Daily Mile to see if either or both would be of benefit for me.

    Thanks for giving me some ideas.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 11, 2012 at 4:05 am #

      I hope it works well for your indoor workouts too 🙂 I have yet to check on Daily Mile (busy days….) but will 🙂

Comments are closed.

