How To Keep Up The Momentum During the COLDER Months

8 Jan

Hi all! 

I just returned from a three days girl weekend which of course in my book means food and fun and well… more food.  Its time to get back on track. 

I am a Spring through Fall girl.  I LOVE being outside and enjoy taking my workout that was as well.  So…. what does that mean?  I am a roller blader, and a biker.  I love using our state bike trail for both.  I even enjoy biking to work which is 3 miles from my home.  This coming spring, I hope to plant a garden.  It’s pretty easy to get me outdoors that time of year.

However…

come winter when the bike and the roller blades are put away for the season… I kind of lose that motivation.  Never a fan of the cold, I would rather just stay inside and curl up with a book or good movie.  While both lovely things to do… obviously our bodies need more. 

For myself – I try to get to our local YMCA several times a week.  There, with ear buds in my ears… I jam out to my motivational work out music while lifting weights, tread mill, and elliptical.  I really enjoy it, and feel so much better after I do it… but tend to get bored easily and want to leave.  In that case – it helps to have friends who go as well.  I find when I can connect with a friend…I stay longer.  One day this past week I was just finishing my workout when my friend walked into the gym.  To catch up, I stayed another hour and went through her workout with her as well.  1,500 calories later I walked out of the gym.  😀

I am curious what you do for indoor style work outs when the weather does not meet our requirements.  Gym membership?  Work out videos?  Home gym?  Classes?

18 Responses to “How To Keep Up The Momentum During the COLDER Months”

  1. Amanda January 8, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Well, the weather is opposite here – can’t go out to work out between spring and fall because it’s too hot and there’s danger of heat stroke – but during the summer, here are my coping mechanisms. 1. I have a big living room so I can still walk/run in laps around it, haha! 2. Wii Fit! 3. I have a recumbent bike and elliptical at home, so it’s like having a gym. Since I don’t belong to a gym, this is good. 4. Videos are okay, but if they get you really hot and sweaty, it’s still difficult because the temp indoors is always around 80. 5. I try to go out really early, before the sun is up too much, and take walks on a shady trail not too far from here. That still gets me really hot, but it’s not as bad as doing any sort of workout after 9 am!!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 8, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      I am so glad you mentioned the Wii fit Amanda – I forgot about that one! When my College son still lived at home we did that one a lot together… trying to do better than the other…ha ha! I forgot about it but it is still here. I have a couple videos but have not opened them…. I really should 😀

      I too like to work out early before it gets hot in those seasons. I hope to be way more consistent this year.

  2. laurelrainsnow January 8, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    I belong to a gym and I actually work out more during the winter, since you can’t do much outdoors. I have found a time to go when others I like talking to will be there…that makes the workout go faster….

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

      It helps motivate me when friends are going to a class or to work out as well…. I wish at this time I was more “self motivated” but i think the overall hurriedness of the other parts of my life right now leave me valuing my time to hang out in the house with a book or the blog…. I need more balance 😀

  3. Zia January 9, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    I do Zumba all the time. I love the class. Right now I’m doing that 5 hours a week and I have recently started doing a 1 hour yoga class. My muscles feel more worked out after an hour of yoga then and hour of group power, I kid you not. This is a year round for me. I have to be in a class environment to stay motivated otherwise i skimp out.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 9, 2012 at 4:57 am #

      Wow – Zumba 5 hours a week? That is amazing and a great workout! Good for you to stay consistent!

      • Zia January 9, 2012 at 5:02 am #

        It ‘s easy to do that much because I enjoy it so much. I don’t feel like I’m working out at all. Make a huge difference.

        • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

          I really enjoyed Zumba when it first came to our gym – then I got busy and got away from it… I need to get back into it… preferably with friends 🙂

  4. MarthaE January 9, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    Great idea here. Sometimes a community of like minded helps stay on track. I posted a giveaway for 52 Small Changes hoping to get a small group together to do the book together. (Let me know if you’d like to participate too.)
    Now – to answer your question…:-) We have a treadmill and an indoor bike. We even have a weight system (cheap version of a bowflex sort of thing) which no one uses.
    I was doing well with the bike for about a month then I got off schedule. I must get back on track!!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 9, 2012 at 4:59 am #

      I like your idea about the book 52 Small Changes – I have it up for review for this week. I will look at it and get back to you on the group doing the book together! 😀

  5. Joy Weese Moll January 9, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    I need to unbury my Wii Fit, too. I do videos (both physical DVDs and streaming off Netflix) and the treadmill in the basement. Don’t laugh, but I also will put on an old TV show, usually streaming from Netflix, and dance and march and stretch while watching it. Sometimes that will get me motivated like nothing else.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 10, 2012 at 2:44 am #

      I dance while house cleaning Joy – no shame in finding ways to move when you can 😀

  6. Jill January 10, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    I have a treadmill at home and recently connected with some summer friends who run in the mornings outside. I try to meet them one or two days a week and use the treadmill some of the others. Last week I worked in a couple videos, belly dancing which I love and P90X yoga which I am still sore from but it makes me want to do it again, plus I am figuring out the Kinect we got for the Xbox and managed to sneak in some Zumba since I can never get to a class withmy and my children’s schedules. I use Daily Mile and MyFitnessPal to track it all. I’m trying to make it all a habit so I don’t fall off the wagon. Plus I registered for a 10k, a 5K and a 4 miler in upcoming months so I can’t quit. Still undecided on the half marathon though!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 10, 2012 at 2:49 am #

      Having friends to work out with Jill is awesome! You sound like you have a nice mix going on and stay motivated!

  7. Joy Weese Moll January 10, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Have you seen Pandora’s new workout stations? http://www.pandora.com/#!/genres/workout
    I just tried the Dance Cardio. Not my kind of music it all, but it just got me working up a sweat for more than 30 minutes while thinking that I’d been at it for about 10. Fun!

    • ibeeeg January 10, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      Excellent. Thanks for sharing this link.

  8. ibeeeg January 10, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I am subscribing this blog of yours. I need motivation. Indoor workouts are difficult for me – I bore of them. What does help me is switching between two plans I have in place for myself. My goal is to workout about 4 items a weeks and alternate between my wii workout and the 100 workout. Both of them has me running…not much as i hate running but at least 10 minutes worth right now. My ultimate goal is that when I get back on my bike in March/April that i will have stamina to ride at least close to where I was when I stopped riding for the season. Music is incredibly important for me while running. Oh, I do not run outside, I figured out how to run in my house – not best solution but better than nothing. Going to a gym would equal fail for me….life is too busy to take the time for that.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 11, 2012 at 4:07 am #

      I bore with the indoor ones too… I need workout buddies. 😀

Comments are closed.

