When It Is Hard To Find The Time To Work Out

13 Jan

What a week. 

Last week I was on vacation and it was BLISS.  I was able to get up in the morning, lounge in my PJ’s, write my posts, get in a good work out and even read…. ahhhh…… READ.

Then…

I went back to work.

😯

I am in charge of special events at my job as well as my regular Family Life Administrator duties.  I had a concert to prep for this week (it is tonight), 176 packets to prepare and mail for a big meeting next Wednesday, and a special meeting planned for tomorrow morning.  On top of being gone a week, prepping for a class that started this past Wednesday, and my regular duties, as well as Navy Son is home for two weeks, I had a meeting Monday night, Book Club at my house Tuesday night, Volunteer with Teens Wednesday night, Dinner with Navy Son and friends Thursday night, concert tonight…

working out was not in the cards.

SO….. thanks to a question Joy presented, how do you squeeze in a work out when there just does not seem to be enough hours in the day?

I wish I had the answer to this.  When I am  in “game on” mode, I seem to make it work better.  I find the time.  I MAKE the time.  And that is where I need to get again.  In my dream version of me…. I do make that time.  I am up (in my mind) at 5:30 every morning, clean and shiny and off to the gym.  I work out diligently 6 days a week for at least an hour (again in my mind…) and then off to work where I do not have the “you need to work out!” cloud hanging over my head…. and life… if fabulously balanced.

Ok…. back to reality. 

My to do’s out way many times, the I wants and I needs…. 

Here however is the upside.  We all have one of these scales and yes, from time to time one side is going to dominate and things we enjoy or should be doing turns out to not make the priority list… yes, even when it should.

For me… the biggest push is over.  The packets have been mailed, the concert is set and the invites are out, the meeting for tomorrow is ready to go, the class is in progress…

this afternoon I am meeting two friends to do Group Power and then the tread mill.  Tomorrow and Sunday I will have time to work out again…Monday too. 

Next week I go to full-time at my job while my co-worker goes on maternity leave.  I will just need to balance it more… but I believe it is doable. 

How about you – what do you do to keep on the work out track when life explodes in every direction but the gym? 

13 Responses to “When It Is Hard To Find The Time To Work Out”

  1. Joy Weese Moll January 13, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Obviously, I’m still working on this since I asked the question.

    I had a bit of a break-through yesterday. I declared it a snow day even though I could have got out if I really wanted to.

    Then, I did a hula DVD in the morning, danced to one of the new Pandora workout stations for awhile around lunch, and a yoga DVD in the evening. Three workouts in one day! The longest was 35 minutes.

    Things I learned:
    * I feel really good when I work out! You would think I would know that but I forget it sometimes.
    * Working out is a cure for the munchies, cravings, and other unhelpful eating habits I fall into if I’m not careful. That was brand new information to me and I’m so grateful to know that there is such a simple cure. Once my body feels good, I am motivated to feed it well.
    * Dancing for 15 minutes is a work out. If I do three of those in a day, I will be on track for my monthly goals and get the above two benefits and more besides.

    So, that’s where I am today. Slightly better than a couple of days ago when I asked the question. I like your response as well. There’s a lot to be said for not stressing over it and trusting that we will get back where we need to be, while making a plan to make it happen.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 13, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      I feel good when I work out to Joy – almost as soon as I am moving I am thinking, yes, this is what I needed….. mentally, physically….

      My week so far has been nothing but a ball of bouncing from here to there….. but as of today I will be moving back towards good things… good habits 🙂

  2. Tanya Patrice January 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    It can be so hard – I try excercise DVDs at home – or a weights workout with the dumbells at home. And my gym closes at 10PM. so I’ve been there as late as 9PM to get a workout in.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 13, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      I have two DVD work out programs that I bought months ago…. I have opened neither as of this date. GAH! BUT – going to the gym now 😉

  3. Delia (Postcards from Asia) January 14, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Sometimes it’s hard to balance the things you want to do and the ones you have to do. If you really, really want to, you make time. And if there is no time, then we have to accept it and then get back on track at the first available opportunity. I find that the longer my break from exercising, the harder it is to get back into it.
    I admire you for trying to balance so many things. That requires some practice. 🙂

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 14, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks Delia – it does take work and after my injury, I am still trying to get back into where I was work out wise… I have a lot of friends to work out with so that helps keep me going 😉

  4. laurelrainsnow January 14, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I’m feeling motivated just from visiting…hope it translates into action!

    I’m curious…are you considering a tagline for this blog? I love the intriguing messages sometimes found in taglines….just asking…lol

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      I hope it does too Laurel – that was the point on this site – to motivate each other 😀

      Hmmm…. hadn’t thought of a tagline…. 😛

  5. Jill January 15, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    If I don’t get it done in the morning I try for after the kids go to bed. When I put them down I change into what I’m going to wear to run or workout. Most of the time once the clothes are on I get to it, although last week on Thursday I just didn’t have it in me and decided since I had Friday off I would do a longer run in the morning, which I did. Getting out of bed in the morning is so hard for me, i wish I were better at it because I do love the feeling of not having it hanging over me!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 15, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Morning is better for me Jill – I need to find a way to make that happen more consistently…. I find that as the day goes on I get tired, and by evening I want nothing more than to hang out with my hubby or a book.

  6. Booking It with Runner Sami January 16, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Good question, Sheila. One thing that helped me when I was first trying to get into the habit was accountability. I had great friends and workout buddies who kept on my case to workout with them. After a while I felt worse if I didn’t make time to workout that it became a habit. 🙂

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

      I am working on that too – I have several people that use the gym and I ask them to let me know when they are going…. that does help

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Book Journey - January 16, 2012

    […] When Its Hard To Find Time To Work Out […]

Comments are closed.

