ShAkInG Up The Workout Routine

17 Jan

If you were to poll people on the street and ask them to name 5 ways to exercise, what do you think the top answers would be?

I would guess among the most common answers would be:

  • walking/running
  • tread mill
  • weight lifting
  • aerobics class
  • bicycling
  • DVD work out

And all of these are good answers, great even!  However, if you are like me… I need variety.  The same routine (Group Power Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Tread Mill and Elliptical on Tuesday and Thursday) while shows great dedication…. can become boring.  Boring = more of a chance that I will skip a work out session AND not only that, but your body becomes used to you working the same muscles – the same way. 

This is where the SHAKING UP the routine comes in.  This time of year is a great time to try something new…. stretch yourself out of your comfort zone and….

  1. Try a new class at your local gym
  2. Sign up for Zumba
  3. Wii sports games
  4. kick boxing
  5. palates
  6. self-defense class
  7. karate
  8. snow shoeing
  9. a dance class
  10. Ice skating
  11. skiing
  12. ping-pong
  13. swimming
  14. trampoline
  15. boot camp
  16. step class
  17. shoveling snow

and I am sure you can add more to this list.  😀

Yesterday started my 5th season of Floor Hockey.  Yes, a little out of the box – but it is fun, competitive, and I LOVE it.  We play hockey in a gym every Sunday evening now through mid March.  It is fun and a great work out.  The games are about 50 minutes long, and we switch out who is on the floor so you are not running constantly.  I probably play about 30 minutes of a game – but my Polar heart monitor tells me that in my 30 minutes of playing I burned over 400 calories…. and my heart rate was up around 186.  Yes…. definitely a work out… fun, shakes it up, and today… I am a little sore.  😯

What do you do to break the routine?  How do you SHAKE UP your workout and keep it fun?

8 Responses to “ShAkInG Up The Workout Routine”

  1. Amanda January 17, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    I definitely need variety! I get so bored otherwise. Even when I’m out walking/running, I go to an interesting place where I will see new things every time. 😀

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 17, 2012 at 2:07 am #

      That’s a good idea Amanda changing where you go for variety is an excellent way to shake it up and keep it interesting.

  2. shannonjoe January 17, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    Ooohh-floor hockey sounds like fun!! I wish we had some kind of sport to play around where I live. I think this spring my daughter and I might try to play tennis. 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 17, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      We have 10 teams Shannon so we are able to switch off with different teams… it is a BLAST and apparently, quite the workout too… 😛

  3. mari (Bookworm with a View) January 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    I haven’t been shaking in up much but now that I’m back from vacation, it’s time to make a weekly plan. The Tough Mudder has helped me focus but I slipped last week (which is okay).

    BTW… I hope to send you personal profile email request today (tomorrow at the latest). Sorry for the delay… life has been crazy busy! 🙂

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 17, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Hi Mari – no worries…. you have been busy! 😀 I need to kick it down again as well 🙂

  4. Jill January 20, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    Last night I did yoga instead of running,w hich was fun and felt good, but when I looked at how many calories I burned part of me thought I really should have just run instead. Maybe not the right attitude, but it is always there at the back of my mind, how much did that burn?

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 20, 2012 at 2:33 am #

      Its good to shake it up though Jill – and while maybe it wasn’t impressive calorie wise you probably did a good service to your body, resting up those muscles and tonight…. I think it s good to change it up and yeah… not all our choices will be a big calorie win – but you are doing something good for your body! Way to go!!!! 😀

Comments are closed.

