Oh My Gosh Becky! Look At Her SHOES!

21 Jan

 

Hi Team Kickin It People!  How are you all doing?  It was late last night that I realized I have been neglecting to post here, totally forgot to do the Wednesday Healthy Eating (and I have some good recipes to share!). 

I had a crazy two weeks but I think it should mellow out now and so here I am Saturday morning ready to talk shoes with you.

Above, those are my actual gym shoes.  I love them, they have taken me through many a work out… but I do for a new pair this coming season.  My friend Amanda just picked up a nice pair and I seem to be leaning towards the color black… but I am flexible…

What shoes do you wear for working out and do you have any advice to a tread mill user, zumba participant, Group Power junky, and Elliptical person?  😀

15 Responses to “Oh My Gosh Becky! Look At Her SHOES!”

  1. mari (Bookworm with a View) January 21, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Shoes are tricky! You really can’t use running shoes for boot camp, etc… the support is different.

    I’m a Saucony gal. The toebox, arch and heal fit my foot. I have nerve damage in my left foot (long story, childhood injury) so Nike is out of the question, my foot goes numb. I know, these are not issues anyone deals with but me (numb foot) but it’s my reality… until I decide to have surgery (never ‘gunna’ happen my friend).

    Love shopping for new shoes, have fun!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      Thanks Mari for the advice! I need better shoes going forward. I am going to look at Saucony and see what those are like. 😀

  2. Joy Weese Moll January 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    I’m an Asics gal. Just got a new pair a couple of weeks ago. Size 11 and a half, which pretty much explains my brand loyalty right there. I go for cross-trainers and use them for everything.

    I also have gradually learned to like barefoot workouts, but I only do the DVDs where the instructor is also barefoot. I like my yoga DVDs, of course, but also hula, Ellen Barrett, Nia, and qi gong.

  3. Vicki January 21, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I’ve tried lots of different brands of shoes, and for me, Asics is the best by far. They are so comfortable it’s like wearing nothing. Seriously. Here is a link to the pair I own now: http://www.asicsamerica.com/footwear/walking-shoes/gel-tech-walker-neo-2-q150n-womens/

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 23, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      OOH thanks Vicki – I will check that out! 😀

      (Sorry about the postings… I don’t know why it keeps blocking – I found your comments in Spam – you should have no trouble now.)

  4. Delia (Postcards from Asia) January 22, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    I had a pair of Reebok running shoes (I always go for the running or cross-training version) and they were perfect – it felt like they were made for my feet! They are similar to these ones here: http://www.sportsshoes.com/product/REE1759/reebok-lady-premier-verona-kfs-running-shoes/
    But when they got worn I couldn’t find a new pair here so I bought a pair of Nike’s which are ok but not as good.
    Usually I know withing the first few minutes if the shoes are for me or not. I like them very light, with good ventilation and flexible.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 22, 2012 at 3:26 am #

      Thanks Delia – I liked my Nikes when I was just doing tread mill or elliptical, but now that I am doing a little running and some other classes I want a better shoe…. thanks for sharing yours!

  5. Jill January 22, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    When is tarted running last summer I bought a pair of Reeboks that were on sale at a department store as I also had a gift crad. I was afraid to spend too much money if I ended up quitting after a short time as I often do. When I reached 300 miles I treated myself to a trip to an actual running store and spent way more than I ever do on a pair of Asics. I’ve heard a lot of runners rave about them and a number of them who hate them, so I guess no brand has universal appeal. They have a lot more cushioning than my old pair did even when it was new. I mostly run in them, but they have done a few other workouts as well. I liked how at the running store they actually let you walk outside, she even told me I could run around the block if I wanted to try them out which I cannot see them letting you do at a regular store.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 22, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      Nice Jill – I have so many fun options now. I am treating myself to a decent pair this year – that much is sure 😀

  6. Vicki January 22, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    I LOVE Asics. They are the most comfortable shoe I’ve EVER worn. Here’s the link to them:
    http://www.asicsamerica.com/footwear/walking-shoes/gel-tech-walker-neo-2-q150n-womens/

    I wear them for everything…walking, biking, treadmill, elliptical, dvd workouts etc.

  7. Vicki January 23, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    Yea!!! I’ve tried for 2 days to get my comment to load. I finally went to WordPress and signed in again and this time my comment loaded!!!

    What I’ve been trying to say is that my favorite shoe is Asics. I LOVE them!! They are so comfortable you forget you’re wearing shoes!

    Here’s the link to mine:
    http://www.asicsamerica.com/footwear/walking-shoes/gel-tech-walker-neo-2-q150n-womens/

    I wear them for everything…walking, biking, elliptical, recumbent bike, dvd workouts etc.

  8. Sheila (Book Journey) January 23, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    You did 🙂

  9. Vicki January 24, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Did you get that or should I post it again? LOL!!

Comments are closed.

