Checkpoint…. an Embarassing One

31 Jan

*Sheila jogs up to the check point arms raised above her head to the theme of Rocky!  Woo Hoo!!!  Woo Hoo!*

Ok… scratch that.  Not true. 

Last week … ugh.  where do I began?

Tuesday evening I went and worked out with Amanda and Christie at the gym.  We did Zumba followed by Group Power.  I had a plan and it was a great one.  I knew Wednesday would be busy so I only had a 30 – 45 minute run planned, but the rest of the week I had classes and elliptical, and people lined up to do this with….

and then….

Wednesday was too busy to do anything but work, run errands and then back to work.  No gym.

And then Thursday I got sick which wiped me out from Friday, Saturday and Sunday activity. 

Then yesterday, after work I was physically at the gym!  Cue the Rocky music again!

and then had to go back to work to take care of a pressing situation and never even stepped foot into the work out room.  Basically I was there… I made a couple phone calls I was dealing with…. I apologized to Amanda, and left.  After I left work for the second time at 5:10, I had a commitment at 5:30 pm which took up the rest of my evening.

Frustrating?  You bet!  But Mari put a comment on my Monday post that got me smiling and thinking last night after I came home ans was able to read such things….. she said “I am taking my life back”, and I thought….. Yes.  That is exactly what I need to do.  Instead of letting everything eat away at my time, I need to make working out a priority.  For me, for my training, for my body, for my health. 

I have big plans this year and it does not include the couch or nacho’s….. (ok… occasionally nacho’s…. ; ) )

Hopefully you had a better week then me.  I would love to hear your successes and struggles and be sure to add your thoughts to Mari’s post too.  😀

Later this week I will update on the 52 small changes book and challenge…. I am currently on week 3 – STAY OFF THE COUCH! 

11 Responses to “Checkpoint…. an Embarassing One”

  1. mpartyka January 31, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I love your honesty! As we try to keep posts upbeat, it’s important to remember that this is hard work. It’s not easy choosing to ‘take our lives back’.

    I know I can do better and 50 years from now I will be thrilled with the decisions I’m making today. Yep… I’m going to live to be at least 113 so at 94 I will have 20+ years to go!

    Good luck and have a great week!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 31, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      I really wanted to have a much better track record today Mari – but nope…. sucky week.. 😀

      I want to live that long too 🙂 I could visit you and we could power walk together!

  2. shannonjoe January 31, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I did great with my 5k training last week, but dropped off the edge of the world with reading!! OMG!! So last night I took a bath instead of a shower (I ALWAYS take showers) so that I could read my book!!!!!! It turned into a looooong bath! LOL! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 31, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

      Nice!!! And I love how you balanced it out with a little pampering and a book 😀

  3. Joy Weese Moll January 31, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Hope you’re feeling better! Taking care of yourself when your sick is good for you in the same way that exercising when your well is good for you. So a cheer for recognizing when you need to rest.

    • Joy Weese Moll January 31, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Both of those “your”s being “you’re” of course! 🙂

  4. heather January 31, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    I understand those things that come up and wreck your planned workout time. I had that kind of week too.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 31, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      Hopefully you can turn it around too Heather – I am tired tonight but hitting the gym in about 30 minutes… it will be good for me 😀

  5. Jill February 1, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    My reading suffered last week too due to my running. Balancing things out is just so hard! Way to refocus though!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) February 1, 2012 at 2:38 am #

      Thanks Jill – I just got home from a super workout tonight…. and I feel good! Two hours, 850 calories…. I hope I am back on track!

Comments are closed.

