True Confessions….

3 Mar

 

Hi all.  It’s me, Sheila.

I have mentioned before that in a surprisingly busy February I have not loved on this blog like I had dreamed.  I have ideas for posts, have had some of you email me your stories so I could share them, and it has been a challenge just to find the time to post. 

However – I am not waving the white flag here.  Quite the opposite and here is why.

Many of you know that I am pretty active and enjoy outdoor activities like bike riding.  Many of you also know that last June we had a little pile up on mile 71 of a 150 mile ride and I was hurt.  I broke my pinky, dislocated my wrist and was taken out of the ride by ambulance.  It was not the highlight of my riding days.

This accident didn’t seem like such a big deal to me at the time.  I proceeded to do a 50 mile bike ride a few weeks after in my cast and the Warrior Dash following a couple of weeks after that, also in the cast.  However what it did do throughout the winter was took me away from the activities that keep me strong such as Group Power (weight lifting) and Kick Boxing, which I still have not returned to.  In the past 6 months my activity level has taken a major hit and therefore my body has too. 

I bring all of this up today because Team Kickin It was all about motivating one another.  I like to believe I am in as good of shape as I was last summer but that is not true at all.  I need to get motivated, I need to get strong again and I need to be completely honest here as I know I am not the only one who struggles with staying active and staying fit. 

When I feel I look good, I feel good about myself… and currently that is not the case.  I know when I look in the mirror and ask myself is this the shape you want to be in the rest of your life?  The answer is a firm NO.  Now that it is March I am feeling a sense of urgency to get myself in shape and in gear for the biking and active season ahead.  Feel free to kick me in the butt as you feel necessary 😀

God knows, I can be stubborn when I want to be.

 

Also – please email me any topics you would like me to discuss here… questions, work out things… if I don’t know it, I will research it. 😀  journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

11 Responses to “True Confessions….”

  1. rhapsodyinbooks March 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    I agree with you – motivation is absolutely the biggest barrier, but why should it be? What we want is so clear! And yet… I wish I had the answers!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) March 3, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      Exactly Jill… I can really annoy myself as I know what I need to do to move int he right direction.

  2. Amanda March 3, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    I’m starting to feel a lot more motivation these days as well. I’ve been stalled out for months!

  3. Leslie March 3, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    I have a motivation problem too. I absolutely hate cold weather. And I prefer to do outdoor things for exercise. My activity level has been a little low the past few weeks. And now my clothes aren’t fitting right. 😦 I didn’t gain any weight, but I seem to be expanding. Arrrrrhhh…. Ackkkk.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) March 4, 2012 at 4:04 am #

      I am working on making better choices Leslie… food and exercise… trying to get tot he gym more often 😀 Like you, I prefer the natural exercise that comes from being outside.

  4. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader) March 5, 2012 at 4:49 am #

    I’m sort of on the opposite end of the pendulum at the moment. I gained 22 pounds over about 5 years. I blame it on a foot injury (*nothing* as dramatic as your accident, and I’ve never even gotten a clear answer on what the problem is) and marrying a fantastic cook! I finally got tired of it in late October. Nothing really sparked it, I just did not want to be in this overweight, tired body anymore. So I joined the Y and started watching what I eat, and I’m so close to being where I want to be, I can taste it. Just about 5 pounds to go! I’m fitting into my old “skinny” clothes, I’m feeling confident enough to drag out my “real” 2 piece swimsuits when we visit the in-laws in Florida next week, I feel better about myself, and I just feel better in general. I even have *much* fewer headaches! I could kick myself for letting myself go like that. It hasn’t been easy, but it’s been worth it! I can’t wait for warm weather so I can go hiking and biking again! I haven’t even been able to do any of that for years! So hang in there! I bet the warm weather will get you moving again!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) March 5, 2012 at 4:53 am #

      Jen that is really inspiring! I know I can do – I have done it before and when I eat right ans exercise I lose weight quickly. Thanks for the pep talk. I will hang in there and have been to the gym the last three days and have plans for the morning as well 🙂

  5. shannonjoe March 5, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    I haven’t run into the lack of motivation thing yet seeing as I just started running at the beginning of January. My clothes are fitting better, I’ve lost 21 pounds, I feel GREAT when I run, I have more energy, and I LOVE LIFE! Having said that however, my brother-in-law made my youngest stepson (19) a RED VELVET CAKE AND I HAVE EATEN 3 PIECES SINCE FRIDAY!!!! 🙂 I think I’m about to move the cake into Adam’s bedroom. But then I would still know it was there! HELP!! I have been doing so good-I can’t fall off the wagon now! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com

    • Sheila (Book Journey) March 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      Shannon that is awesome! (Not the cake) LOL the motivation! Good for you!

      I will get there, it is good to heat from people like you to remind me it can be done and it feels great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Check Point… Working on MoTiVaTiOn! « Team Kickin It - March 6, 2012

    […] earlier this last week I dusted myself off and got back on the treadmill.  I wrote a post confessing how I have not been as committed as I had hoped; to this blog… and to myself.  And I am […]

Comments are closed.

