Body Works and Biking

17 Apr

Happy Tuesday Team Kickin It People!  I am so sorry I have been so absent as of late.   (I seriously do not know how people maintain more than one blog, between life and Book Journey, this site has been neglected and I hope to amend that now.

So whats been happening since my last check in?  I have been biking and trying to get to Group Power (weight lifting) three times a week.  Currently I have 78 miles in on the bike for the year.  I was hoping to reach over 100 before this post, but the weather has not cooperated…

Rain… storms….. and yesterday…. SNOW.  😯

I have been trying to give myself an extra push and try new things and this afternoon I am going to go to a Yoga mix class and possibly (POSSIBLY) stay after and do the Group Cycle class which scares me.  I do not like stationary bikes, which is all the more reason I want to master it. 

I have been working harder by using My Fitness Pal (which I highly recommend!) and have two girls in the office now using it with me too.  Its actually a great learning tool to know how much damage those little “treats” that we think dont add up can do to us…. like Jelly Beans (11 calories each!), and dont even get me started on chocolate chips.

Finally last week at out local YMCA started the Bodyworks 6 week challenge.  You pay $10 and get a worksheet to give yourself points for cardio, water drinking, strength training, vegies and fruit, and a bonus point a day for no junk food.  They have big charts to record your weekly points and they give away prizes.

My goals this week is to get to that 100 mile + on the bike.  I want to get in the habit of at least working out an hour 5 days a week.  Continue to eat well and work on seeing results. 

I challenge YOU to try something new… a new class, a new way of working it… either by walking, dancing, biking, roller blading, I dont care – just do it 😀  AND then…. tell me what you did 😀

Joy at Joy’s Book Blog is organizing this weekly meme to show what we as readers do to stay fit… stop over and cheer her on!  😀

9 Responses to “Body Works and Biking”

  1. Joy Weese Moll (@joyweesemoll) April 17, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Lots of fun things! I like the Y’s challenge — what a fun way to encourage a community in the direction of health!

    A challenge to try something new…A need a big dramatic work out day to make up some minutes…OK. I’m going to walk to the railroad station and back. I’m not sure how far that is, but one of my neighbors does it, so I’m sure I can! I penciled that in for Friday!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      I like their challenge too as I always am up for challenge 🙂

      YAY for doing something new! Grab those calorie busters wherever you can! You will have to come back and tell me how far it is 😉

  2. Rikki April 17, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    The YMCA challenge sounds like a really good thing. Actually I already did try out something new last week. I haven’t been swimming for YEARS and finally got started again together with a friend.
    I recently joined My Fitness Pal and love it, too.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 17, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Oh I love swimming and I have not gone for years either… I would love to do that!

  3. Jenni Elyse (@jenni_elyse) April 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    The weather hasn’t cooperated where I am either. It’s been so stormy as of late. We also had snow, but it was on Good Friday. I don’t doubt we’ll see more snow before the weather starts to improve for good.

    I also love My Fitness Pal. It’s a life saver! You can friend me you want. My username is jenni_elyse. Or you can use the email in my comment.

    Good luck on reaching your goals!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      I am hoping it is over for us now 🙂 Ready for REAL SPRING! I will friend you! I am Sdechantal

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings… So Many Fun Happenings! | Book Journey - April 17, 2012

    […] also updated Team Kickin It this morning with my weekly check in of my fitness goals and what is happening in that part of my […]

  2. Readers’ Workouts April 17 | Joy's Book Blog - April 24, 2012

    […] Sheila/ Book Journey […]

  3. Readers’ Workouts April 24 | Joy's Book Blog - April 24, 2012

    […] challenged the Readers’ Workout participants in her post last week: Body Works and Biking. Her challenge was to try something new. I took her up on that, pledging to walk to the train […]

Comments are closed.

