I Have Become A HUGE Fan Of The Avocado

25 Apr

This is a fairly new development.  I have found myself drawn to the avocado this past month or so.  Now avocado is not something that previously was a produce staple in my cart… honestly – I really didnt know what to do with it… other than the fact that I LOVE it as a dip…

I ignored it.

It was last summer when we were camping with friends my friend Amy brought a couple avocado’s with her and I watched her toss them not only into a mouth-watering dip, but also on sandwiches and with cottage cheese (more on that in a minute).

I don’t know what set me on the avocado adventure, but I bought a couple… mixed it with cottage cheese (3/4 cup cottage cheese, 1/2 avocado) and YUM.

Now that I am reading up on the mysteries of the avocado I am seeing that they are known as the worlds healthiest fruit, packed with Vitamin C, Br, and K, potassium, fiber, and copper.  Do not be frightened off by the calories.  A regular size avocado packs around 250 calories, however I find it filling.

**Note that home made avocado dip is way better for you than store bought which has a lot of fillers and artificial coloring.

Heart healthy, this is a fruit not to be ignored.  You can enjoy it in slices on sandwiches and in meals (mmmm try chicken and avocado!)  Here is a great source for more information.

Do you love avocado?  If so how do you use it?  I am anxious for more ideas!  😀

10 Responses to “I Have Become A HUGE Fan Of The Avocado”

  1. Mary April 25, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    I love avocados. Instead of mayo on a sandwich I use 1/4 avocado and spread it on the bread. I like to add it to a tossed salad (just cube it) too. They add so much flavor and, like you said, are so good for you.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 25, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      Thanks Mary – I like the idea of spreading it on a sandwich!

  2. Amanda April 25, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    We use avocado all the time here! It’s one of the only foods that is better in Texas than up north. Jason will eat them from breakfast, plain, just by the spoonful. I like them sliced into tacos or with seasoned chicken, or chopped up with lime and garlic into guacamole.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 28, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      I have really have taken to them Amanda! I have even recently added them to my egg white omelets!

  3. Leslie April 28, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I love avocados. I add them to salads and use them in veggie wraps. I also put thin slices on top of burgers instead of cheese.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) April 28, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      mmmm…. I havent tried that on a burger yet but I want to!

  4. My Mum makes the greatest avacado fool. She changes the recipe every-time, but the best form she’s ever made was just avacado and sugar. Delicious as a dessert!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy guacamole recipe that will impress your guests! « My Spanish Translator - April 27, 2012

    […] I Have Become A HUGE Fan Of The Avocado (teamkickinit.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Loving right now : The perfect sandwich « kerrycooks - May 30, 2012

    […] I Have Become A HUGE Fan Of The Avocado (teamkickinit.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.

