True Confessions of a STRESS Eater

1 May

 

So ummm…. yeah.  The last couple of weeks have been a little stressful and unfortunately for me, when that happens, good eating habits seem to run for the hills leaving me behind.  My mind seems to go into this mode of “why nots” and excuses:

Why can’t I have this one sugary gooey chocolatey doughnut thing for breakfast… it is breakfast and I will work it off….

Why cant I stop on my way to work and have the double skim mocha latte, I mean really… I did say no whip…  (for the record… we are still looking at 220+ calories in that baby)

Why can’t I sit here and eat half the bag (or more) of Doritos’?  They are BAKED after all.

YAY!  I won the silent auction gift basket of Chocolate from our local Chocolate Etc. store!!!!!

anyhoo… you get the point and yeah, every one of the above scenarios are actual… and yes, I caved on every one of them.  😯

 

Stress happens.

So while I am sitting here, angry with myself, knowing I can do better…, I give us all this advice.  Each day is a new day.  We can (I can) get up and do something about it.  In fact today is May 1.  A great day for a new beginning.  We are one month out and a couple of days from BEA.  I have goals.

Its time to move on them.  😛

Tonight my friend Christy and I are going back to Kick Boxing.  I have not been there since last June when I got hurt.  I am excited to go and as I told another friend, “a little punching should a great stress reliever make!”  😀

SO while this kind of turned out to be the “anti-workout and healthy eating” post, it had to be said.  We can all stumble and fall but no one said we had to stay down.  If you are struggling, remember to take it one day at a time… see the future you whoever he/she may be….

are you thinner?

are you stronger?

are you healthier?

Can you kick the hiney of anyone who messes with you and not break a sweat?  (ok, that one was for me… I just wanted to know…)

ARE YOU HAPPY?

Have a super awesome start to your week…. do something fun that burns calories…. 😀

Come back here and let me know how you are doing – hopefully we can inspire one another. 😀

 

Thanks to Joy from Joys Book Blog for her motivational posts.

9 Responses to “True Confessions of a STRESS Eater”

  1. Amanda May 1, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Every day, we have a chance to turn ourselves around. Yesterday, I had one of those stress days. Didn’t get enough sleep, ended up binging on a whole bunch of things I shouldn’t have eaten. Then I ate healthy for dinner and went running in the evening. Not a total counterbalance, but better than it could have been. I’m ready to be back on track today. Stuff happens. All we can do is make the best of it and move on.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) May 2, 2012 at 1:43 am #

      Amanda, I thought of you when I wrote this post this morning just because you have been such an inspiration… you have really stuck with it long term and I am always thrilled to see the new things you are trying!

  2. Joy Weese Moll (@joyweesemoll) May 1, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Sounds like a great plan for getting back on track — and that’s possibly the most important skill there is! Persistence, not perfection, is key!
    Joy’s Book Blog

  3. Rikki May 1, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    I know all these scenarios all too well. All we can do is forget about them and try to do do better next time.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) May 2, 2012 at 1:46 am #

      Right… I did well today. I stayed busy… I worked out… I feel awesome right now, a perfect tired but happy combination.

  4. Vasilly May 2, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    I understand. I’m an every-kind-of-mood-eater. Once I was at the point of chewing gum so I wouldn’t eat when I wasn’t hungry. You’re right, every day is a new beginning.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Readers’ Workouts May 1 | Joy's Book Blog - May 8, 2012

    […] Sheila/ Book Journey […]

Comments are closed.

