The Challenge!

15 Jan

1M

 

Finally!  I am getting this challenge going!  😀  Life took on a BUSY season and I was hoping to have this up mid December and kick off January 1st, but instead we will be officially kicking off on February 1.

So what is the 12K challenge?  It is a fitness challenge that I believe *almost anyone can do no matter your age, weight, or fitness level.  Together I am asking those of you who join me to participate in a wellness program that will hopefully as a group lead us to healthier habits for our bodies, better shape, and a better fitness level.

Each month – your basic goal will be to take it 1K at a time.  A 1K is 5/8 of a mile.  Each month we will add to that another K.  This is your basic goal in this challenge – you can walk it, run it, tread mill it, elliptical it, whatever works for you.  The goal is by the end of each month to have completed the challenge and by January 2014, be able to do a 12K which is 7.46 miles.

You know those people who are always doing 5k’s and you are thinking wow!  That is amazing!  They are actually running/walking 3.2 miles.  When you break it down… it really is doable.

 

But….

smiley-face-scared

But…. what if there is no way I can physically do this challenge?  No worries, there are no wrong ways of doing this.  If due to health or other reasons this would not work for you, there will be a modified version where we will convert the K’s into minutes of what you can do.  Simply let me know in the form below if you need a modified program.  *As always, be sure any workout you do is approved by your doctor.

 

 

14

But…this is not a challenge for me, I am already doing 5 and 10K’s and need something more to keep me motivated.  In your case, you would be in an advanced challenge.  Maybe by the end of a 12 month period your goal may be a Half Marathon (13.10 miles) or a whole marathon (26.21 miles).  Simply let me know in the form below if you need a modified program.  *As always, be sure any workout you do is approved by your doctor.

15

This is perfect!  It’s just the motivation I need to get moving towards a healthier me!  Awesome, glad to have you on board!  I hope that as a group we can motivate one another to reach our goals.

16

1.  I am setting up a Facebook group for additional tips and support of one another.  It will be optional to join but if you are looking for an extra boost, advice, food tips, etc… this may be something you want to take a look at.  Our group will be closed, meaning invite only so you must sign upon the form to request access.

2.  I am also working on a random generator that will be on this page soon.  This generator will give you a random 20 minute work out goal for each day, anything from walking, lunges, stretching to dancing. 

3.  Throughout the week I will be posting here my fitness ideas, goals and anything in between so pop in often. 

4.  A question form will be set up for any questions you may have and if I do not have the answer, I will try to find someone who does and may post your questions anonymously if I feel it is something others may benefit from as well. 

5.  On Saturdays I will post healthy recipes here.

6.  Occasionally there will be guest posts from friends of mine who are reaching their goals, and perhaps even you if you have a story you would like to share that fits with what we are doing here.

7.  At the end of each month we will have a check in post where you are welcome to share how you are doing in the comment section or by writing your own post (if you have a blog) and I will have an area where you can link it so we can visit and cheer you on.

8.  That’s the basics of it.  Again, no matter what your fitness level, this can work for you!  Let’s make 2013 a year to remember, to feel and be healthier, inside and out.

To participate please fill out the form.  Your information will be confidential.

An email will be sent to you confirming your participation.  YAY Team!!!  Lets get moving!  Remember, we officially will start here on February 1, but you may get started any time.

35 Responses to “The Challenge!”

  1. Amanda January 16, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Just wanted you to know i plan on signing up, but haven’t yet because I’m deciding on my goal. I remember when we were talking before, I didn’t think I could even do a 10K, but this weekend, I ran 10.2K nonstop, and could have easily gone longer, so I’m not sure yet what my goal will be here! I think I need to set it to more than 12K though! 😀

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 16, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      You rock – my goal will be a half marathon by Aug 31 (there’s an event on that day). If I conquer that goal earlier I will go for the marathon. Either way excited!!! We have 15 people signed up so far! 🙂

      • Amanda January 17, 2013 at 2:59 am #

        Awesome! I think I’m going to go for 10 miles or a 16K. After walking/running a half-marathon this weekend, I’m not sure I want to do it again – my legs really start to hurt after 9 miles. But who know? I have a friend encouraging me to do the Rock n Roll half marathon in December this year – maybe I’ll outdo myself!

        So glad there’s been a good response!

  2. Belinda D Hanson January 21, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Hey there! I want to sign up, but ot won’t let me! The blanks will not fill in. My goal is a full marathon by either Grandma’s in Duluth on June 22, or the TC Marathon in October.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 21, 2013 at 3:13 am #

      YAY Belinda!!!! A full Marathon! AWESOME! I just tested the form and it is working, weird you cant fill it in. Try refreshing your page and try again – LOVE that you are signing up! 😀

  3. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader) January 21, 2013 at 4:28 am #

    Oooh, I will have to think about this. There’s absolutely no reason I couldn’t aim for 12K except that it sounds scary! But I’ve finally bought myself running shoes and being cooped up in the gym this winter has made me realize how much I actually enjoyed being outside running last summer. But the treadmill…the treadmill is my nemesis. I’ll be thinking on this. Good luck to everyone though!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 21, 2013 at 4:35 am #

      Jen I hope you join in – you are right – you can do it!!! I will be hitting the gym in the am bright and early to tackle that same nemesis… tread mill 🙂

  4. Leeswammes January 21, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    It sounds like something I could do and should do. Except not running – I’m not a runner. Walking or cycling would be fine. However, walking 12K takes quite a chunk out of the day. So, I”m thinking, start off walking and then later move to cycling, using the times rather than distance of walking.

    So, if walking 5K takes 1 hour, I’d cycle the next month – the 6K walking month, for an hour and 10 mins, etc. Still means ending up with more than 2 hours of exercise in the end.

    How often (times per week) are we expected to do this? I have not signed up yet – I may…

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      Hi Judith, walking cycling would be great! You only have to reach each goal by the end of each month. Throughout the month you can train up to it, shorter walks, exercises to get your energy up and build up to when you can do it. Your goal is just to do it by the end of the month – you only have to do each goal once, but if you hit it early you are certainly welcome to challenge yourself for more as well 🙂
      From here I will put up some posts to hopefully help motivate 😀

    • Mari @Bookworm with a View January 21, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

      Judith… love you! You should have seen the looks of the people on the cruise boat as they watched me running the deck. I walk four miles every morning, plus a run. HA! I know.. I crazy 🙂

      Hope you sign up!

      • Sheila (Book Journey) January 21, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

        I love that you do that Mari – I am not a runner but I want to be by the end of this year. 😀

      • Leeswammes January 23, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

        @Sheila, thanks, I now understand better what the idea is. I filled out the form.

        @Mari, I love you back! You’re a little crazy but you do what you want to do and that’s great! I wore a silly hat this morning cycling at a temperature of -8C (17F) to the train station. I had lovely warm ears and didn’t care a bit about what others might think. 🙂

  5. Vicki January 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    This challenge sounds awesome!! I’ve been waiting to see what the challenge was going to be since Nov. 23rd when you announced it was coming, so I’m thrilled I saw it today!

    I’m not a runner either, so I’ll be walking either outside or using my treadmill. I may occasionally use my recumbent bike or regular bike. I also have an elliptical, but it kicks my butt. Hopefully as we work our way through the challenge I’ll get better at using it.

    Thanks for doing this challenge! I can’t wait!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 22, 2013 at 4:50 am #

      Yeah it took a while to get this organized but I am excited now! 😀

  6. Crystal @ I Totally Paused January 22, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    I’m excited to do this! I love all the different choices for how to get to the 12K too 🙂 Walking that far takes a bit too long, so I’ll probably cycle it!

  7. D. Ann @ Overflowing Bookshelves January 25, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    Signed up last night! I’m going to create a schedule so I know what goals I need to complete by when 🙂 Can’t wait until Feb 1

    • irene January 27, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      I’m interested in joining, but I’m a little unclear on the end, where will we be doing this 12K.

      • Sheila (Book Journey) January 27, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

        Hi Irene, you will do the 12K wherever you can, however it works for you. As those taking part live all over the world, we can provide support and guidance from here, but doing the 12K is all you – it could be walking it, running it, treadmill, elliptical… even biking it if that is a goal for you. 😀
        I hope you do sign up! I am excited to hear everyone’s journey along the way to personal success.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings…. Fitness and Reading « Book Journey - January 16, 2013

    […] hmmmm…. there she is!    The 2013 12K Fitness Challenge is on!  Well, almost on.  It officially starts on February 1, but the sign up is on.  I hope you […]

  2. The 12 K Fitness Challenge 2013 « A Brave Heart - January 17, 2013

    […] real go-getters.  This challenge runs from February 1, 2013 through January 2014 and is hosted by Team Kickin It.  Click the blog link or the image to read all the details and to sign up, if you’d like. […]

  3. morning Meanderings… Packing Up and Off I Go! « Book Journey - January 18, 2013

    […] The Challenge! January 15, 2013 […]

  4. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Book Journey - January 21, 2013

    […] finally finally finally posted my super fun fitness challenge for 2013.  Oh yes readers…. we can be super cool readers… and be fit!  It;s true!   Please […]

  5. Monday plans (#25) « studentspyglass - January 21, 2013

    […] posts you read/comments you make you get one entry into her giveaway.  She’s also set up a fitness challenge if that would interest you – I’m debating signing up, because me and sport are lifelong […]

  6. Readers’ Workout » I'd Rather Be At The Beach - January 22, 2013

    […] almost daily to see if there was any news. And then yesterday there it was in all it’s glory, The 12 K Fitness Challenge 2013!! This is a fitness challenge that is do-able for any age, weight or fitness level. Please go check […]

  7. Morning Meanderings… You even get obsessed with a movie? « Book Journey - January 23, 2013

    […] The Challenge! January 15, 2013 […]

  8. Weekend Cooking: Egg White LOADED Omelets « Team Kickin It - January 26, 2013

    […] are less than a week out from the 2013 12K Challenge (hosted right here!) and part of that challenge was changing up our eating […]

  9. Readers’ Workouts — January 29 | Joy's Book Blog - January 29, 2013

    […] fast. I’m working on a plan to get it going again in February. One piece of that plan is the 12K Challenge on Team Kickin’ It run by Sheila of Book Journey. The idea is to go (run, walk, elliptical, […]

  10. Readers’ Workouts » I'd Rather Be At The Beach - January 29, 2013

    […] you haven’t already, don’t forget to go check out the 12 K Fitness Challenge at Team Kickin’ It, hosted by Sheila of Book Journey!! This is a fitness challenge that is […]

  11. WATER! « Team Kickin It - January 31, 2013

    […] we are Challenge Eve and I hope those of you who are joining me in this adventure are getting ready to work towards a […]

  12. Kick Off Day – It’s Not To Late To Join In!!! « Team Kickin It - February 1, 2013

    […] Kick Off Day!  Yes the 2013 12K Challenge start is right here.  Hopefully you have signed up early, prepped yourself for what this challenge […]

  13. Goal Check « 50 Things Before I Turn 50 - February 3, 2013

    […] The Challenge! (teamkickinit.wordpress.com) […]

  14. Month Two Of The Challenge! Add A “K”!!! (And month 1 recap) | Team Kickin It - March 1, 2013

    […] you are new here and curious about the challenge here is the original sign up link.  Its never too late to […]

  15. Check in: How Are You Doing? What Are You Doing? | Team Kickin It - March 5, 2013

    […] have been meaning to send you a group email to everyone who signed up for the 12K Challenge but I have not sat down and put the emails in a group yes do maybe that is a tonight project.   I […]

Comments are closed.

