Weekend Cooking: Egg White LOADED Omelets

26 Jan

4

We are less than a week out from the 2013 12K Challenge (hosted right here!) and part of that challenge was changing up our eating habits. 

For the past few weeks at my house we have been working on the “out with the not so good and in with the healthier choices.  One of the steps I am taking is going through a cupboard one at a time and switching it out to good foods for good cooking.  Here is my first cupboard achievement:

20130113_125247

 

Today for Weekend Cooking I thought I would offer up a healthy breakfast/lunch item that I like to make.  I am a big fan of eggs and we are lucky enough to have friends who raise chickens so I am always in full stock of good fresh eggs. 

I like to make egg white omelets (egg whites are 17 calories per egg) and load them with any  vegies I have on hand.  Recently I made this one I am about to share with leftover shrimp we had from a get together and it was DELICIOUS.  Shrimp are extremely low in calories (6 calories each), practically no fat and a nice pinch of protein.  While I have no exact recipe here as it changes every time I make it, here is the basic idea:

 

3 or 4 egg whites (either use an egg white substitute or I separate the egg whites from fresh eggs)

any vegies you have on hand – for this one I used onion, squash, mushroom and spinach

olive oil

season to taste

shrimp ( I have also used left over turkey, ham, and turkey bacon)

Cut up all the vegies you plan on using. If using spinach, this will be added later so set aside. Heat up your fry pan with a little but of olive oil.  Once the oil is hot pour in your vegies and the shrimp  (not the spinach)and stir fry them for a few minutes until vegies are tender and shrimp are a nice cooked pink.  Have your egg whites ready to go (I usually add about 1/4 cup of water to my eggs), stir it all up and pour on top of your vegies.  Usually I have too many vegies to turn it into a nice looking omelet so I scramble up the eggs with the vegies and shrimp. 

20130114_131322

Step 1: stir frying in olive oil

Once the eggs are no longer wet while cooking, I add in a healthy handful of fresh spinach and let that cook with the eggs about an additional three minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste or other seasonings you enjoy.

20130114_132259

Step 2: Adding the spinach in (I know its hard to see the egg because I really over do it on the vegies)

When everything is cooked, pour out onto serving dishes and enjoy.  This is super filling and delicious, a highly tasty dish with few calories and practically no fat.

20130114_132426

Step 3: Serve and eat!

This recipe is posted for the Weekend Cooking meme, go to the link to find other recipes!  Who knows what you might find for dinner. 

1bb

17 Responses to “Weekend Cooking: Egg White LOADED Omelets”

  1. Laurie C January 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    That looks amazingly delicious! I forgot you have two blogs going and haven’t visited Team Kickin It before. I like the healthy, energetic look! My problem with making this meal is that my bad food habits would have me looking for bread or pasta to go with it.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      Team Kickin It was my brain child that never really took off last year. I just didn’t have time for it 😀 I am hoping this year with the challenge and my personal goals that will change 😀

  2. Beth F January 26, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    I love omelets. A white egg version is definitely a healthy way to go. Fun to follow Team Kickin It

  3. laurelrainsnow January 26, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I love all of those ingredients! I usually have a spinach egg white omelet at the restaurant around the corner on a Sunday….but it would be great to have it at home.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 26, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

      The shrimp was a nice surprise, I did not know if that would go well but it was delicious and I have used shrimp a couple of times now in my omelet.

  4. jama January 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    I love omelets too . . . and shrimp! This looks like an easy, delicious, healthy meal :).

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 27, 2013 at 4:35 am #

      Super easy – super tasty 🙂 I could eat these for supper! (and have!)

  5. Vicki January 26, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    I love omelets and shrimp, but have never had an omelet with shrimp in it. Sounds interesting.

    I’m excited to start your challenge!
    Here’s My WC

  6. Heather January 27, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    that looks so good. I was planning to do something similar tomrrow morning as i have an opened carton of egg whites that needs using. Thanks for sharing.

  7. joyweesemoll January 27, 2013 at 12:49 am #

    This looks delicious! I love to do veggies and eggs, emphasis on the veggies. And I haven’t done it in awhile — time to get cooking!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 27, 2013 at 4:37 am #

      Yes lots and lots of vegies have been the answer around our household lately 😀

  8. Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate January 27, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    This looks delicious and healthy- the perfect combination. Your Team Kickin It blog looks terrific and so inspiring!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings… Pics of the month « Book Journey - January 26, 2013

    […] and stop in to my Team Kickin It blog where I am featuring a healthy (and delicious) recipe for Beth Fish Reads Weekend […]

Comments are closed.

