WATER!

31 Jan

13

Here we are Challenge Eve and I hope those of you who are joining me in this adventure are getting ready to work towards a healthier and stronger you!  I know I am.  😀

Water is a huge part of a healthy life style.  It’s funny to think how much money we can spend on these new and fancy waters  and there are a lot out there… H2Oh, Skinny Water, Smart Water, Hint, Pur, Aquafina, ICE, Zero, Vitamin Water, MIO, Glaceau Fruit Water, Smart Sence, Propel, Sobe Life Water, Dasani…  and with names like these, why wouldn’t you drink these?

and even as you look at this list you can probably name many more or at least know what they look like in the grocer isle.  And these can run anywhere from $1 a bottle to upwards of $7, and sure… some of the bottles are pretty cool to look at I will give you that. However, for a lot less money and the same results (AND in many case healthier results) you can make your own flavored water or even good old plain water right at home.

We have delicious water at home.  I like my water to be icy cold when I drink it so I would do out and but bottles of Aquafina and put them in the freezer until they were slushy (*hangs head).  Finally – about a month ago I bought a really nice container for the frig that I now keep full of water.  It’s always cold, and it’s always ready to go. 

20130123_162019

my super awesome to go cup I use I bought at Wal-Mart around Christmas time… (I bought two of these, $4.49 each, a red one and a green one… and you can find these in most retail stores now.

20130131_054701

What I like about this style is I can take it anywhere, and believe it or not… I like the straw.  It’s always ready to drink.  I take this one to work with me, to the gym, and use it at home.  I try to keep it full and next to me all day long and I am surprised how much more water I drink with it always ready to go.

Now going back to those flavored waters.  I admit… water can get boring.  I can drink a lot of it during  a workout but to try to get in my 8+ glasses a day on just a regular day is a bit trickier.  I started adding fruit.

20130131_060002

Orange!

This one above has slices of orange in it and it adds a nice hint of orange flavor that is all natural.  You can also add slices of cucumber, apple, strawberries, mint leaves , lemon, pineapple, raspberries, grapefruit, pomegranate seeds, peaches, blueberries… and image how pretty these will look in your glass and how trendy you will be when you show up with a beautiful 100% water beverage and “they” are sucking on a Sobe.  😛

And doesn’t this look like a delicious alternative beverage when having friends over?

2a

Drink up!  Do you have any combinations to add? 

5 Responses to “WATER!”

  1. Vicki January 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    We used to spend over $200.00 a month on bottled water because we have a well and the water was hard. I finally decided to buy Brita filters and now have one pitcher and two dispensers. I keep one dispenser in the fridge for me and my son, and the other on the kitchen counter because my hubby only likes warm (yuck) water!

    I have tried Crystal Light and other products. Just not crazy about them.

    Adding fruit sounds like a great idea and will definitely give that a try sometime soon.

    SO excited about starting the 12 K Challenge tomorrow!!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) January 31, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      Great Vicki – glad the filter worked for you! I know we are lucky to have good tasting water and that is not the case everywhere. YAY for tomorrow!

  2. mpartyka January 31, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    I freeze pineapple and place a piece or two in my water, just a hint of flavor. YUM! Try it

    Say, swing by my blog to see what I just signed up for! 🙂

  3. Lori Pilla February 1, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    I have been blessed to have spring water form our well at home. I bought a pummello and so I may try some in the water 😀

Comments are closed.

