Kick Off Day – It’s Not To Late To Join In!!!

1 Feb

1M

Happy Kick Off Day!  Yes the 2013 12K Challenge start is right here.  Hopefully you have signed up early, prepped yourself for what this challenge may look like for you – and of course envisioned where you will be 12 months from now. 😀

If You have not signed up yet but wish to do so…. ABSOLUTELY!  Here is where you can sign up and read all about what the 12K challenge is.

And now… here is the February Challenge:

17

For those who signed up for the challenge as it was laid out:

This month your goal is do do a 1K before the end of February.  That is 5/8 of a mile, 3300 feet.  You can walk it tread mill it, jog it, run it, elliptical…. whatever you wish to use to get you there in a single work out session.

If this is too low a of a starting goal, feel free to adjust to where you wish to start at…. maybe a 2k (1.24 miles)  Remember wherever you start – don’t start too high as you need to add to this each month by a “K” for the next 12 months. 

29

Modified Version: 

You may wish to start with the 1k for this month (5/8 of a mile) and stick with doing that for the first few months of the challenge repeating it for March and April… until you are ready to do more.  You know your ability, just be sure to challenge yourself, do not make it too easy, but do not over extend yourself either.  You can walk it tread mill it, jog it, run it, elliptical…. whatever you wish to use to get you there in a single work out session.

Set your goal – and work towards it.  YOU can do it!

22

Advanced:

My recommendation for advanced is to start with a 5K (3.2 miles) for this month.  You can walk it tread mill it, jog it, run it, elliptical…. whatever you wish to use to get you there in a single work out session.  Remember wherever you start you need to add the 1K (minimum) per month, ending the 12 months with a 17K for those of us who start with a 5K (10.56 mile).

Be sure to write down your goal and share it with others.  Its easier to stay on track if others know what you are doing and can be an encouragement to you.  It’s much easier to give up on something that no one knew you were a part of anyway.  DO what you need to hold yourself accountable”

1.  Get a work out buddy

2.  Talk to a friend or family member about your monthly goal

3.  Scheldule your work outs like you would an important appointment.  Do not miss your appointments for a healthier stronger you!

4.  Picture yourself down the road 6 months… what are you doing?  Are you running in a local event?  Are you participating in activities that you have only previously observed?  How do you look?  Are you stronger?  Leaner?  More self assured?  Hold on to those images.

5.  Write it down!  If you blog there is a place to write your own starting post and link it up below.  If you do not blog, write it in a journal or start a goal notebook.  Refer to your goal often.  Know it.  Reach it.

26

Mini BONUS Challenge for February (optional)

For all three levels of this challenge your February bonus challenge is to drop a habit this month that may not be the best for you.  You are only dropping it for a month and are more then welcome to add it back in March.  Ideas may be:

Lose your latte habit

Let go of a not so healthy snack:  chips, a favorite candy, chocolate,desserts

Fast Food

Lowering your TV watching

To work up to your goals, try to do a little bit 4 to 5 times a week.  Take walks, jog, try something new – snow shoeing, skiing, racquet ball, a class at a  gym, hiking with friends… If you keep it fun and interesting, you will forget you are working out and instead you will be having fun.

We all like fun right?  😛

For myself, I am starting with a 5K this month.   I will probably do it at the gym on the treadmill as Minnesota right now is freakishly cold outside.  😀  My big goal for the year is to at some point this fall, run a half marathon.  For the habit I am going to drop is the delicious green tea Latte I like to pick up from Caribou Coffee several times a week.  Its a good 200+ calories that I can put to better use.

Add your thoughts on this kick off month either by linking them below or writing them in the comment space.  If you have questions or thoughts on a post, please use the Forms provided.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Be sure to pop in on the other participants and cheer them on!

12 Responses to “Kick Off Day – It’s Not To Late To Join In!!!”

  1. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks) February 1, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I had planned to put a post together for today, but things have gotten insanely busy here. I’m starting to think that a blogging break might be a necessity. However, with all of the crazy additions to my schedule, I think that committing to this is even more important. 🙂 I hopped on the treadmill yesterday for about 15 minutes as a jump-start for the challenge. I’m not ready to give up my lattes, but I will ponder if there is something else I am willing to part with for the month.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) February 12, 2013 at 3:48 am #

      I agree Alyce, while we can take breaks from many things… out health and fitness should be something we are always working on. I am so glad to have you on the challenge 🙂

  2. Vicki February 1, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    I’m excited to get started. I added my link to Linky Tools above.

  3. Leslie February 2, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Ok… I officially signed up. I already walk for exercise and to get all those bird pics on the nature trails but I could use the group motivation to do longer walks.

    • Sheila (Book Journey) February 12, 2013 at 3:47 am #

      Good for you Leslie – I cant wait to see how your month goes 🙂

  4. Amanda February 5, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Yesterday, I went out running with a friend. We did 3.28 miles, so a bit over a 5K, but I’m going to count it as a 4K as my goal is to do a 16K by the end of this challenge. 😀

    I’m removing all refined wheat from my diet this month. This includes stuff like whole grain bread/pasta, because it’s still somewhat refined. The only wheat I’m keeping is bulgar. I want to see if it makes a difference in my weight loss, which has been really suffering lately. I’m hopeful!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) February 6, 2013 at 12:36 am #

      Nice!b I am on for a 5k this month but have had two back to back retreats starting on February 1- tomorrow I will be back home and hitting the gym 🙂

  5. Konrad Sjoblom February 12, 2013 at 3:26 am #

    I’ll start with 5 miles and add a mile every few weeks…or maybe more. I’d like to get up over a half marathon consistently by year’s end without taking away from my workout routine. I am doing three obstacle races (two competitive, one for family fun). Two are 5k races but the one in July is a ten to twelve miler. I’d like to be more than just a participant in each.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings…Retreat! Retreat! « Book Journey - February 1, 2013

    […] morning I put up the 12K Challenge over at Team Kickin It.  Yes, today is kick off day and I am excited to see where this challenge […]

  2. It’s Monday What Are You Reading? « Book Journey - February 4, 2013

    […] Kick Off to the 12K Challenge! […]

Comments are closed.

