SHRED Revolutionary Diet by Ian K Smith MD (And A Giveaway!)

9 Feb

1a6

What do you do when you are working out, eating right and you seem to have hit this wall where you are no longer losing weight but you have still not reached your goal?  Author lan K Smith lays out a strategic plan of how to break through that plateau in his 6 week program laid out in this book.  Through a varying workout plan and switching up your food, Ian shows the way to losing those hard to lose pounds and gain control.

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I enjoy reading about people who are successful in fitness and I am always interested in learning more on healthy eating and ways to work out that mix it up.  I like the idea of the 4 small meals and three snacks a day (eating something every 3-4 hours), while I have not yet implemented anything from this book into my daily eating or lifestyle, I do think I will as I like the foods that are suggested. 

Another part of this book is that each week is laid out with a where you are at section, what to expect at this point and a day-to-day meal plan with many choices.  I also like that each week has guidelines for helping you with food purchases, what to look for when reading labels and all foods are every day items you can easily pick up at your local grocery store. 

While you may think that the smaller and more frequent meals would be hard to keep up on around your daily life, with a little pre planning these mini meals are easy to take with you.  You also get some surprise “shake up” meals within the plan like grilled cheese and pizza. 

I have read many books on this subject and do not find all of them doable or even likable.  I believe SHRED is a good program for those working on that last 10 to 20 pounds and I also think it would for for those looking for a way to kick off a healthier eating and work out program as well.

I was sent this book for an honest review and also had purchased a copy so I would offer a giveaway to one lucky commenter.  Leave me a comment below on one thing you are doing to lead a healthier life style in 2013.  I will choose a winner using Random.Org on Friday February 15th and then I will mail the book to the winner. 😀

This book was sent for me for review by

Krupp Kommunications, Inc

17 Responses to “SHRED Revolutionary Diet by Ian K Smith MD (And A Giveaway!)”

  1. lostgenerationreader February 9, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    This sounds like a great book and plan. I have been using My Fitness Pal since October of last year and have lost 33 lbs so far. Following a healthy plan that works for me and working out an average of 5 days/week has kept me going strong.

  2. Kathy Johnson February 9, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Hi Sheila,
    I love your blog! I look forward to reading all of your posts and many times if I am short on time, I will read your post first and then read the rest of my e-mail later. Thanks! I am exercising several times a week (zumba and pilates.) I am part of a weight loss challenge. I enjoyed your post about the water. I am struggling getting my 8 cups a day. My max is about 6, so I’m anxious to try some of your suggestions. Please enter me in the raffle.

  3. Vicki February 9, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    I used to watch the author on Celebrity Fit Club. This sounds like a great book to have on hand when you’re trying to get rid of a few pounds. One thing I’m doing to lead a healthier lifestyle this year is to do your 12K Challenge. This month I’m giving up chocolate 😦 as my mini challenge.

    Thanks for the chance to win this book!

  4. Mystica February 10, 2013 at 2:53 am #

    I need to lose weight desperately and though I have never done any particular plan would like to try this one. Please count me in.

  5. Lori Pilla February 10, 2013 at 2:57 am #

    I joined Weight Watchers last summer and have lost over 30 lbs. by following their advice on eating more fruits and vegetables and learning healthier (and flavorful) ways to prepare food. I also remind myself to put more hustle in my step at work to get in more exercising. I think of it as getting paid to exercise 🙂

  6. Belinda D Hanson February 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Looks like a great book. Frequent small meals are definitely better for me!

  7. thetruebookaddict February 11, 2013 at 5:47 am #

    This definitely sounds like a book to try. What I’m doing this year is finally incorporating exercise back into my life. I’m doing some walking and hope to eventually progress to running when I get down to an easier weight.

    Thanks for the giveaway, Sheila!

  8. Margaret February 11, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    I’m not at my goal weight yet but I would love to read this book. Sounds like it has helpful tips for breading through plateaus! Thanks for the giveaway

  9. Konrad Sjoblom February 12, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    I would like to read this book as I often get questions and need to give advice on not only physical fitness but diet as well. I can talk about exercise programs and give target goals for weight loss and how to improve muscular and cardiovascular fitness but I can never be sure my advice is sound. I would love to read this book and then pass it on so I can help change the lives of many throughout the many years I have left in the service.

  10. Marie April 27, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I saw this book at the bookstore last week. I must admit, I’m a total sucker for health, fitness, or diet books. I’m not sure why they draw me in, but I love self-improvement. Maybe it’s just the fresh motivation they provide! This one looks interesting! I’m not sure if it’s already past, but thanks for the Giveaway. Happy Readathon Day!

  11. abookdragon June 9, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    I’ve been wondering about this one. I found out I’m Diabetic in December so I’m trying to eat better, walk daily and take my meds. This doesn’t always work and I really miss bread.

  12. Elisabeth June 13, 2013 at 2:49 am #

    Thanks for the giveaway! Hopefully this book will help me shed the chocolate pounds I have put on!

  13. JOYE June 25, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    This book sounds helpful. I have been trying to cut out all sugars in my diet. boy practically everything has some sugar in it. I have managed to keep off 10# that I lost by doing this. I also eat very little salt.

  14. Jill July 8, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    I’d love to try this one! I thought training for a marathon last year would be the way to drop weight and I really didn’t lose much, actually I think I ended up gaining! After an injury I jumped back in and feel like I work hard, but the scale only moves if I keep my calories really low and I just can’t seem to motivate myself to maintain that for longer periods of time. Count me in for the raffle!

  15. Shannon (Giraffe Days) August 12, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    This year, I started attending Body Buster Bootcamp classes! I started in June and each program lasts for 4 weeks, so this is my third program. I can’t say I’ve lost any weight yet (have gained muscle, which weighs more, right?!) but my fitness has drastically improved already. Also love the way it clears my head and leaves me feeling refreshed. Thanks for the giveaway!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Giveaway and A Little Update « Book Journey - February 9, 2013

    […] since I love to do giveaways to celebrate anything.. today I am doing a giveaway for the book SHRED Revolutionary Diet which I really enjoyed reading through.  I wrote that review on the Team Kickin It site and to […]

  2. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Book Journey - February 11, 2013

    […] Giveaway:  SHRED Revolutionary Diet by Ian K Smith MD […]

Comments are closed.

