Making A Date With YOU!

29 Mar

1g

Hi all!  Here we are at the end of March and if you have been a part of the 12K Challenge Team, we have been going for 8 weeks!  I am hoping in one way or another you have been making positive steps forward either in your work outs, your eating habits, or both.  I would love to hear about how you are doing and if you care to share your story – drop me a line here.

I enjoy working out with other people and setting up gym times, people to ride bike with, run with, etc… but what I wanted to do today is bottom line it…

If you are not in it for yourself it’s just not going to happen. 

1b

When we first started this challenge I struggled getting into a routine.  It was good to have other people around me with similar goals that I could connect with to meet at the gym, or plan a healthy outing… however, as I have known from the past and I know again now – if you are not willing to make the commitment for yourself you will not succeed.

Alright – that sounds kind of negative… but really, it is not.  Instead it is calling the truth to the surface – if your friends or family can not work out with you, do you just not do it? 

Or do you strap on your tennis shoes, and go out and do it for yourself? 

If in doubt, the answer is the latter.  😉

I am not saying I have it right… I certainly do not, but I do know that I should be pushing myself every day to feel good, and make a difference in me – physically and mentally. 

If you have slipped away from routine, fallen back into old habits, its not too late – starting today is still starting.  April is a few short days away… Lets not be “April Fools” lets get up and get out and move and start seeing the difference in yourself as there is no great motivation!

1e

How are you doing?  What is going well?  What can motivate you?

7 Responses to “Making A Date With YOU!”

  1. Leslie March 29, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    I got a little set back by the cold, snow and ice that arrived and stayed for most of March. I’m motivated by birds. Spring migration is beginning so I’m out walking again. Three miles on Wednesday (and a sore knee from doing too much at once) and this morning 1.5 miles. And tomorrow, definitely at least 2 miles are planned. So yeah, I’m still working it!

    • Sheila (Book Journey) March 29, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      Leslie its goof to see you are moving though – that is a great incentive. Getting out there and doing it is what ir really is all about! Good for you!

  2. Leeswammes March 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m also set back by the cold and a back ache. The back ache is better now, so if I dress up warmly I should be OK for my walks. I’ll probably move my March target to April as I really didn’t do much in March.

  3. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) April 1, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    I’ve been consistent in going to an aqua exercise class 3x a week and tai chi 1x a week. It has been too cold to get out and walk, but warmer weather is coming. My shoulder has been limiting my working with weights, but it is getting better! Now I NEED to get consistent with my diet.

  4. Amber Schultz April 1, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    I am continuing to train for the 5ks this summer and am excited for them. I’m just hoping to stay healthy. 🙂 The training program is definately getting more challenging.

  5. kai charles (@YogiKai) April 12, 2013 at 2:33 am #

    I tend to do better with a buddy so Ive done good the past few weeks walking with my friend. I have a free I-phone walking app that tells me how far ive walked so Im on target with the challenges goals. I even have been walking by myself. My gym membership re-opens this month so Im looking forward to doing more solo workouts

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Meanderings…. A Timely End To The March Sisters (and a new read-a-long) | Book Journey - March 29, 2013

    […] In other news, I have exciting updates to Wine and Words (SQQQUUUEEEEE Worthy – truly) but that will need to wait for another day, and I also posted this morning a long overdue update to the 12K group and challenge over at Team Kickin It. […]

Comments are closed.